FlagsHomeAbout the Australia-Britain Foundation

Australia-Britain Society Foundation was formed in 1994 by the then National body of the Australia-Britain Society, itself formed shortly after the inception of the Society in  Sydney in 1971. The Society was conceived by the Cook Society and the then Prime Ministers of Australia and Britain to establish reciprocal bodies to promote and celebrate events of our cultural heritage. More details on the work of the various branches can be obtained by accessing the various branch web-site links.

The Foundation was formed to provide a specific body that provides tax-deductible donations to be made for specific purposes embraced by the Foundation Trust deed that covers most areas of activity embracing cultural significance. The link page under Grants gives details of the Foundation major awards.

The Foundation and National body were for many years until 2007 under the guidance of Mrs. Marjorie Turbayne, AO MBE, as President and Chair, supported by Deputy National President and Deputy Chair Rear Admiral Rothesay Swan, AO CBE; National Secretary Mr. Malcolm Longstaff, OAM, Treasurer Richard Forster and the Branch Presidents of the Society. Please refer to Trustees links for details on the current management of the Foundation. The Patron of the Foundation is His Excellency General The Honourable David Hurley DSC (Retd.)

The Foundation is listed on the Australian Government Register of Cultural Organisations.